Last night, I sang Hugh “My Favorite Things” from the Sound of Music. He said, “do it again!” So I sang it again, all cream-colored ponies and crisp apple struedel, doorbells and sleigh bells and schnitzel with noodles.

“Noodles,” he laughed.

Your turn, I said. What are your favorite things? He thought about it, then shouted out a list while jumping on the bed. (Just like Gretl, I might add.)

Hugh’s favorite things:

  1. The train store
  2. Running outside
  3. Grocery cart
  4. Papa
  5. Best friends
  6. Beach house
  7. Riding a tractor
  8. Dowell
  9. Pizza
  10. Napping (WTF? But OKAY, we’ll take it.)

So the next version went like this, “Riding a tractor and running outside, playing with friends while we eat lots of pizza, chasing our brother at the beach house, these are a few of Hugh’s favorite things!”

When the dog bites, when the bee stings!
