Feeling really fortunate these days. Hugh is sleeping better, the air is warm, and we’re starting to get back on track with exercise and eating better. We have friends who come over and whisk Hugh off to a playground for a few hours. Aunt Sissy shows up to pitch in on laundry, play with Hugh and give us a dinner date. Our neighbors, who have a daughter Hugh’s age, have started swapping play dates with us.

In other words, after two years of full-throttle parenting, I am starting to feel like a human being again.  I wake up in the morning, and Hugh isn’t up yet. I make a cup of coffee. Take a nap. Read a book. Cook an involved dinner.

Hanging on

I’m even getting a new office, which seems trivial, but feels like a big deal since I’m currently in a cubicle without windows. The thought of moving to an office where I can see trees and sunlight, hang art on the walls and throw down a rug will make my days that much better.

Tasha told me that my life would come back into focus around this time, and mostly I believed her.

Of course, there will be bumps in the road, the usual stresses of working full-time, parenting full-time and trying to be an involved and interesting friend, partner, employee, mom.

But I do feel a noticeable shift in our lives, a welcome one.

